Skip to main content

          just shows you ,you never know......

Everything You (Never Really) Wanted to Know About Gelatin

Written by Nedelle Torrisi | January 8, 2015
What is gelatin?
Gelatin is a protein procured by boiling animal skin, tendons, cartilage, ligaments, and/or bones in water. It’s usually obtained from cows, pigs, or fish.
Where is it found?
  • Shampoos
  • Face masks
  • Cosmetics
  • Fruit gelatins and puddings (such as Jell-O)
  • Candy
  • Marshmallows
  • Cakes
  • Ice cream
  • Yogurt
  • Photographic film
  • Vitamins, as a coating and as capsules
  • Wines, as part of a process called “clearing”
Why is it used?
Gelatin is used as a binder in most of the above-mentioned products. As you may have realized, it is not at all vegan. However, there is a product called “agar agar” that works like gelatin but is vegan. Agar agar is derived from a type of seaweed.
How easy is it to enjoy your favorite foods without harming animals? It’s super-easy! Read on to learn more.
Jell-O Copycat Recipe
What should you do when you’re in the mood for Jell-O? Try this recipe for gelatin-free vegan “Jell-O”!
4th of July Desserts - Berry Not Jell-O
As for vegan marshmallows, there are a lot of sumptuous options. We enjoy Dandies brand, which can be found at health-food stores and some Whole Foods Market stores and also online at these places and
We also love Sweet & Sara vegan marshmallows and Suzanne’s Ricemellow Creme, which is great for cooking.
And here’s a little-known tip: Smucker’s Marshmallow Topping  is vegan as well.
Isinglass, made from fish gelatin, is sometimes used in the wine-refining process. Read our article “Is Wine Vegan?” for information and links to many vegan wine companies. (A few beers also use this process, so when in doubt, check our vegan beer list!)
Watch out for candy that has a gummy texture, as it often contains gelatin. Be sure to check the ingredients list on the label. Lucky for us, so many candies are accidentally vegan. This list will blow your mind!
Candy Collage
When it’s time to buy makeup and other beauty products, always check the ingredients because gelatin can be found in odd places, such as in face masks and nail polish remover. You can search our cruelty-free company database to learn which companies are cruelty-free and/or vegan. Also, check out this article to see our picks for affordable vegan makeup.
Like what you see here? Get more ideas:
Follow OfficialPETA on Pinterest!

Popular posts from this blog

geez there is a shocker

Gee ya think only 43 pissed of with china ../////I would think the planet would be  fucking pissed at their  shennanigans ……….  43 countries criticize China at UN for repression of Uyghurs EDITH M. LEDERER Thu, October 21, 2021, 5:51 PM UNITED NATIONS (AP) — More than 40 mainly Western countries criticized China at a U.N. meeting on Thursday for the reported torture and repression of Uyghurs and other religious and ethnic minorities in Xinjiang, keeping a spotlight on the region where foreign governments and researchers say an estimated 1 million people or more have been confined in camps. Cuba followed immediately with a statement on behalf of 62 countries saying what happens in Xinjiang is China’s internal affair, and dismissing all allegations as based on “political motivation” and “disinformation.” China’s U.N. Ambassador Zhang Jun spoke soon after, denouncing “the groundless accusations” and unfounded “lies” and accusing the United States and a few other unnamed signatories of the

michael guist of swamp people dies....

Well Michael Guist of the swamp people , died...apparently he  fell over the side of the boat....... Personally i did not think he was that  famous..... But apparently  the history channel  did  three seasons  on people  living in the bayou ......who the hell would wants to live there ). Now as i see it is  absolute ,shit  apart  from a  few, i mean a a few  channels,......... But i got to thinking, is  the history channel  so desperate all they can do is  film a reality TV about  people living in a  swamp....... This  shows you how bad reality TV has gotten ,when the history channel and  the swamp has  nothing to do with history.......well it  could be  if you look at how old it is , but  its  not about the age of the swamp its about people living in swamp ........ Are people reaching an all time low  here in  media, i mean what the hell exciting can be done in a swamp    apart from dying of course  that's up there ...... But the swamp ...i mean  how  do these  guy

well middle of the road

  As i do not like the smell of  weed/dope/ reminds me of  too many things .....but that's not all....... i  cannot get rid of the smell in places  like cigarettes ......but that in not the  crux of the rant........weed  does something to the transponders  ........although i guess it has  spawned  many songs/babies/deaths/symphonies we all know conductors are stoners....... ......paintings /artwork/car crashes ........fuck -ups /and of  course the legendary munchies .........i once  watched  a man  devour a mixing bowl of rice krispies ....high as fuck ......epic performance !!!!!!....we never   had  man versus food then .......but that would be a  winner .....but weed it has  its pros and cons ....i don't like it .....never  have  ...i don't like putting smoke or  things in my lungs ....i don't like  getting high usually leads  to paranoia...and i get leery best left alone i think .......if i get high  am not in control and that is not